First week home – 2 weeks

Our first weekend with Flynn went pretty smooth but we quickly fell off schedule because he was waking up every 2 hours or sooner to eat. He’d go for longer stretches during the day and I tried to not let him go more than 3 hours between feedings. Most of the day we held him and he slept good and then at night we put him in the pack n play next to our bed and he just didn’t seem to sleep as well. We started to wonder if we shouldn’t hold him to sleep but they told us in our newborn care class that you couldn’t spoil a baby under 6 months and it didn’t seem right to not hold him. During the night he would wake up and start groaning and grunting and after about 15 minutes of this he’d start to cry some. Despite thinking that Eric would be the one to get up before me, often I’d get up with Flynn while E slept through it. I guess my mothering instinct kicked in some. So it ended up that I was doing most of the night shift. Sometimes E would get up with me for feedings for moral support but there was really nothing he could do so I didn’t get mad if he didn’t get up. Plus I figured it was good practice for when he went back to work. Slowly I began to realize it might be a while before I slept decent but somehow my body was handling it better than I thought it would. Some kind of mother adrenaline I guess.

IMG_9280.JPG

IMG_9299.JPG

IMG_9296.JPG

IMG_9287.JPG

Early that week we took Flynn for his first outting to the pediatrician which went very well. He weighed 4 lbs 11 oz which meant that he had gained 4 oz over the weekend. We had stopped supplementing with a bottle following breastfeeding so this was good confirmation that he was getting enough from me. We did continue the twice daily formula feedings but gradually flynn was deciding that formula was not as tasty as breast milk. Can’t blame him because it smells nasty. Everything seemed to look normal per the doctor which was great news.

Car ride to pediatrician:

IMG_9306.JPG

The next day we bravely went to babies r us to exchange a few items and took F along. I nursed him in the car which was a bit tricky I discovered.

IMG_9330.JPG

Later that day F rolled to his tummy. Surprisingly this was the second time it happened. Earlier in the week he rolled to his belly and back while I was changing him one day. Completely on his own! #bigheadlittlebody

IMG_9332.JPG

The rest of the week went on ok. It was nice having a second set of hands to help out.

IMG_9338.JPG

IMG_9354.JPG

IMG_9348.JPG

IMG_9353.JPG

IMG_9403.JPG

IMG_9368.JPG

IMG_9381.JPG

IMG_9415.JPG

Leave a Reply

